I Forgot

“Evacuating London,” composed by Harry Gregson Williams, is the soundtrack of my year. Haunting, full of fear and pain, but aching with beauty. And wonder.

The past months were internalized instead of shared. Journaled by hand instead of tweeted. Breathed instead of posted. Savored, like the feel of a little one’s head on your shoulder or laughing until the tears come. It’s what we needed.

I’ll just say it. I love my life. I could not ask for one more ounce of happiness, for more precious friends, or a more wonderful family. It’s been years since I’ve been this happy. I didn’t know one could be this happy.

I forgot.

Forgot what it’s like to feel sweet tears, pure love, holy awe. So this is what it means to be alive. “This is the land I’ve been looking for all my life, though I never knew it till now” (C.S. Lewis, “The Last Battle”).

2 thoughts on “I Forgot

Join the Discussion

