Exposing Too Much?

Which of the following blog post examples packs more power to minister and change a life? To hold a reader’s attention, earn their respect, and encourage them to invest time in what really matters?

Post A: “I’ve been wrestling with some things lately. Because of my struggles, the dishes are piling up and the laundry’s not done. Yeah, things are hard. I trust God though. He is always faithful.”

Post B: “Lately I’ve begun to realize I don’t trust God. I used to believe He would ‘work everything out for good,’ but since the rape and pregnancy scare I am more angry than trusting. I cannot trust God as I did in the past because I don’t feel I even know Who He is anymore.”

Life is sometimes hard. Things go wrong, in life and in love and in business and in friendship and in health and in all the other ways that life can go wrong. And when things get tough, this is what you should do.

Make good art…

The moment that you feel that, just possibly, you’re walking down the street naked, exposing too much of your heart and your mind and what exists on the inside, showing too much of yourself. That’s the moment you may be starting to get it right. – Neil Gaiman

Fight against the fear of being too vulnerable. The world has no need for more people who spout trite, tidy truths about God while maintaining a facade of control over their lives. Neither is it enough to pretend that admitting your house isn’t perfect or your children sometimes fight equals transparency. Certainly there exists a healthy tension between honesty and unnecessary, gratuitous detail, but I see far too few artists and creators willing to risk.

The world has no need for more people who spout trite, tidy truths about God while maintaining a facade of control over their lives.

 

Is our goal in making art, in sharing words, to try to make people “feel better”, or to take off the masks?

Join the Discussion

