“I Don’t Like Church” at Prodigal Magazine

I don’t like church. And if I had to make a wager, I’d say the average Christian church doesn’t know what to do with me.

“I’m frustrated, God, but it’s not You–it’s Your church!”

I spent my twenties tasting a dozen flavors of churches, from Baptist to Catholic. I’d volunteer, build friendships, and tithe. Then my family moved, the church split, or a pseudo-romance fizzled. Weary, I’d return to Church Hopping 101, hoping that next time would be different. And after growing up as a pastor’s kid and graduating from Bible college, I made a venture into the Eastern Orthodox Church. Read more…

Prodigal Magazine posted my piece called “I Don’t Like Church” today. It’s one mile marker along the way toward…well, I guess that is the question, isn’t it?

2 thoughts on ““I Don’t Like Church” at Prodigal Magazine

    • Just so it’s a good “messing”! :) It’s just one small piece in a puzzle of a journey, and when you’re constrained by word count you can only touch on so much. But I’m glad it’s provoking thought–that (usually) can’t be bad. :)

      Like

Join the Discussion

